Student initials are replaced with a red !

Sarah Snyder -

During a session, if you see the student initials are replaced with a red exclamation point, it means that something is disconnected for you or for the student. You can tell which it is based on what else is displayed on the screen.

1. Red exclamation point and "Audio connected. Waiting for others to join."

Red_Exclamation_before_start.jpeg

This means that the student's audio is disconnected. This could be due to a short interruption or instability in your student's internet connection.

It could also mean that the student is gone. If the student uses the “End Session” button, you will get a notification that the session has ended and will be asked to provide feedback about the session. If a student leaves without ending the session, it can be harder to figure out. Here are some reasons why that sometimes happens:

  • Student device battery died.
  • Student lost internet completely.
  • Student closed the app and didn't reopen.

Here's what to do if this happens:

  1. Ask out loud if the student can hear you.
  2. Write on the screen asking the student to write something if they can see your message.
  3. Wait a few seconds to see if the student responds or if you see the dancing dots that indicate the student is connecting again:

    Dancing_Dots.jpeg

  4. If you don't get a response or see the student rejoining the session, end the session.

 

2. Red exclamation point and "Audio connecting."

Audio_connecting.jpeg

This means that your audio is disconnected. This is usually due to instability in your internet. Wait a few seconds and see if it reconnects.

If your audio doesn't connect again, you can try this:

1. Write on the screen to tell the student you're fixing audio and will be right back.

2. Force-close the app. To do this, double click the iPad's home button and swipe away the app.

3. Open the app again.

4. If your student is still connected, you'll be given the option to rejoin your session. Click that, and you'll be right back in the whiteboard. Audio should connect.

rejoin.jpeg

5. If your audio still doesn't connect, it's probably due to an issue with your internet. You can try moving to an area with a better signal, changing networks, or resetting your internet.

 

3. Red exclamation point and "Offline" message.

offline.jpeg

 

If you see the red box with "offline" displayed in the upper right corner of the whiteboard, it means that your whiteboard is disconnected. Your student will not be able to see anything you write while it is on the screen.

If you see the "offline" message and the "Audio disconnected, waiting to reconnect" message (as shown above), you do not have internet connection. 

If you only see the "offline" message with no audio messages, your internet is probably fine. This usually resolves quickly on its own. If not, you should follow these steps:

1. Write on the screen to tell the student you're fixing audio and will be right back.

2. Force-close the app. To do this, double click the iPad's home button and swipe away the app.

3. Open the app again.

4. If your student is still connected, you'll be given the option to rejoin your session. Click that, and you'll be right back in the whiteboard. Audio should connect.

rejoin.jpeg

5. If your audio still doesn't connect, it's probably due to an issue with your internet. You can try moving to an area with a better signal, changing networks, or resetting your internet.

 

4. Red exclamation point with no messages in the upper right.

Red_Exclamation.jpeg

This means that the student is not connected to their whiteboard. They'll be able to hear you, but won't be able to write on the whiteboard or see anything you write. 

You could see this if the student leaves the app to do something like take a screenshot of a homework problem on a website on their device. If that's the case, when they are back in the app, everything will be fine.

If the student is looking at the whiteboard when this happens, they can also force-close the app, open it again, and rejoin the session, but that's often hard to explain to a student. The easiest thing is usually to tell the student you're going to end the session and that they should reconnect with you. When they do, the work you've done will even still show up!

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk